The "Carlo Donegani" Historical Museum is located at 2,758 m on the Stelvio Pass and tells the story of the legendary Pass in all its aspects.
Set up at the Banca Popolare di Sondrio branch, the Museum tells the story of the Stelvio Pass from many points of view: from the Great War, to the ski schools, mountaineering, glaciers, sport and the Stelvio National Park.
There are three sections in particular.
The blue section, The Great War, consists of photographic and didactic panels and a spacious showcase of historical finds. Near the entrance, a reproduction of a stone trench has been built, accompanied by various remains found on site (barbed wire, machine gun shield, sandbags, etc.).
The red section, The Events, reconstructs, through a series of images, the main events that affected the Pass. These include summer skiing, the Giro d'Italia and other important sporting events, the glacial territory, the Park and more.
The green section, The Road, recounts the birth of the legendary road, from planning to construction. Opened in October 1825, the carriageway still represents an excellent and grandiose work of civil engineering, whose designer was the engineer Carlo Donegani of Brescia (1775-1845), to whom the Museum is dedicated.